Bangladesh Krishi Bank
[Ordinary Members [Bank Only]]
The major occupation of the people of Bangladesh is "Krishi". The Bengali term Krishi means "Agriculture". About 85% of the population depends directly or indirectly on agriculture which contributes a significant portion to GDP. Bangladesh Krishi Bank (BKB) has been established under the Bangladesh Krishi Bank order 1973 (President's Order No 27 of 1973).BKB is a Banking Company under the Banking Company Act-1991. Its Head Office is located at Krishi Bank Bhaban, 83-85 Motijheel Commercial Area, Dhaka-1000, Bangladesh. The primary objective of BKB is to provide credit facilities to the farmers for the development of agriculture i.e. Crop production, Fish culture, Animal Husbandry etc, entrepreneurs engaged in development of agro-based and cottage industries. The Bank is guided in accordance with the policies and principles of the Government of the Peoples Republic of Bangladesh. BKB has an authorized capital of Tk. 15,000 Million (Taka Fifteen thousand Million) only and paid up capital of Tk. 9,000 Million (Taka Nine thousand Million) only which is fully paid by the Government. The Bank started commercial functioning since 1977 to generate more loanable fund from the idle rural and urban savings and invest them for the betterment of our economy. The Bank operates its function through its 987 branches (except Rajshahi Division). It has 16 foreign exchange (Authorized dealer) branches. In the field level the Bank has 9 Divisional, 29 Chief Regional and 24 Regional offices for close supervision of the branch activities. For smooth operation, as a part of internal control and compliance system, the bank has also 63 field level audit offices of which 9 at Divisional and 54 at Regional levels. In the Head Office the Bank has 4 Divisions headed by General Managers, 28 Departments and a Training Institute headed by Deputy General Managers. Local Principal Office of BKB is headed by a General Manager. The existing strength of Bank's manpower is 9430 against the approved strength of 13680 as on 31 December, 2010.The Bank has a Board of Directors comprising of 11 members. The Board is headed by the Chairman. The Board Chairman is generally an experienced professional/ex-professional who has wide acceptability and rapport. The Directors represent both public and private sectors and are appointed by the Government.The Managing Director is the Chief Executive of the Bank. He is appointed by the Government. The Bank has two posts of Deputy Managing Directors and they are appointed by the Government. The Bank has 14 posts of General Managers. They are also appointed by the Government.