News & Events

Research Workshop on “IT Vulnerability Assessment and Penetration Testing in Banks” held at BIBM

Written by Manager

Sunday 24th November 2019

Press Release
Dhaka, 21 November, 2019:
A half day long research workshop was held at the Bangladesh Institute of Bank Management (BIBM) on 21 November, 2019, in its auditorium. Dr. Shah Md. Ahsan Habib, Professor & Director (Training) of BIBM delivered welcome address. Dr. Md. Akhtaruzzaman, Director General of BIBM chaired the Program. The program was inaugurated by S.M. Moniruzzaman, Chairman of BIBM Executive Committee and Deputy Governor of Bangladesh Bank.
A paper titled “IT Vulnerability Assessment and Penetration Testing in Banks” was presented in the research workshop by Md. Shihab Uddin Khan,   Associate Professor of BIBM  on behalf of research the team. Other members of the research team are Md. Mahbubur Rahman Alam, Associate Professor of BIBM; Kaniz Rabbi, Assistant Professor of BIBM; Md. Foysal Hasan, Lecturer of  BIBM; S. M. Tofayel Ahmed, System Analyst of Bangladesh Bank and Md. Saiful Islam, Chief Technology Officer of Bank Asia Limited.

A good number of participants including senior bank executives, academicians, media representatives, faculty members of BIBM took part in the research workshop.
S.M. Moniruzzaman, Chairman of BIBM Executive Committee and Deputy Governor of Bangladesh Bank was present in the research workshop as the chief guest. Barkat-e-Khuda, Dr.Muzaffer Ahmed Chair Professor of BIBM & Former  Professor of Dhaka University;  Helal Ahmed Chowdhury, Supernumerary Professor of BIBM & Former Managing Director of Pubali Bank Limited; Dr. Shah Md. Ahsan Habib, Professor & Director (Training) of BIBM;  Debdulal Roy, Executive Director of Bangladesh Bank; Mohammad Mamdudur Rashid, Additional Managing Director of United Commercial Bank Limited; Shyamol B. Das, Chief Digital Officer of BRAC Bank Limited spoke among others at the event.

Deputy Governor said, Bangladesh Bank (BB) has been playing notable role to maintain smooth and secured e-banking operations. BB has taken necessary initiatives to start e-banking, e-commerce and e-payment, automated clearing house system, mobile phone banking etc. Banks have been allowed to make online money transactions, payment of utility bills, transfer of funds, payments for trading goods and services through e-channels like Internet, ATM, Mobile phone etc.

 Considering the paramount importance of information systems security in banks BB has issued new version of ICT security guidelines for banking and financial institutions, he added. 

In the concluding speech, Dr. Md. Akhtaruzzaman, Director General of BIBM  said, now a days many financial products and services directly or indirectly depend on ICT, banks have to think how to involve IT to minimize the cost, increase the efficiency and how to provide better services to the customers ensuring reliability, safety and security.

Members of the Institute

  • Bangladesh Bank
  • Sonali Bank Limited
  • Janata Bank Limited
  • Agrani Bank Limited
  • Rupali Bank Limited
  • Pubali Bank Limited
  • Uttara Bank Limited
  • Bangladesh Krishi Bank
  • Bangladesh Development Bank Limited
  • AB Bank Limited
  • National Bank Limited
  • Eastern Bank Limited
  • United Commercial Bank Limited
  • Islami Bank Bangladesh Limited
  • IFIC Bank Limited
  • Rajshahi Krishi Unnayan Bank
  • Standard Chartered Bank
  • Dutch-Bangla Bank Limited
  • Mercantile Bank Limited
  • ONE Bank Limited
  • Al-Arafah Islami Bank Limited
  • National Credit and Commerce Bank Limited
  • Trust Bank Limited
  • Southeast Bank Limited
  • Social Islami Bank Limited
  • The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited
  • Standard Bank Limited
  • Export Import Bank of Bangladesh Limited
  • Mutual Trust Bank Limited
  • BASIC Bank Limited
  • Jamuna Bank Limited
  • Bank Asia Limited
  • First Security Islami Bank Limited
  • The City Bank Limited
  • Prime Bank Limited
  • Dhaka Bank Limited
  • Investment Corporation of Bangladesh
  • Bangladesh Commerce Bank Limited
  • BRAC Bank Limited
  • The Premier Bank Limited
  • Shahjalal Islami Bank Limited
  • State Bank of India
  • Habib Bank Limited
  • Commercial Bank of Ceylon PLC
  • Bank Alfalah Limited
  • Citibank, N.A.
  • National Bank of Pakistan
  • South Bangla Agriculture and Commerce  Bank Limited
  • Meghna Bank Limited
  • Woori Bank
  • NRB Commercial Bank Limited
  • Union Bank Limited
  • The Farmers Bank Limited
  • NRB Bank Limited
  • Shimanto Bank Limited
  • Bangladesh House Building Finance Corporation
  • Non Member NBFI