News & Events

Research Workshop on “Business Facilitation in Special Economic Zones By Banks in Bangladesh” held at BIBM

Written by Manager

Wednesday 11th September 2019

Press Release
Dhaka, 09 September, 2019:
A half day long research workshop was held at the Bangladesh Institute of Bank Management (BIBM) on 09 September, 2019, in its auditorium. Dr. Shah Md. Ahsan Habib, Professor & Director (Training) of BIBM delivered welcome address. Dr. Barkat-e-Khuda, Dr. Muzaffer Ahmed Chair Professor of BIBM & Former  Professor of Dhaka University Chaired the Program.  The program was inaugurated by S.M. Moniruzzaman, Chairman of BIBM Executive Committee and Deputy Governor of Bangladesh Bank.
A paper titled “Business Facilitation in Special Economic Zones By Banks in Bangladesh” was presented in the research workshop by Dr. Shah Md. Ahsan Habib, Professor & Director (Training) of BIBM on behalf of research the team. Other members of the research team are Antara Zareen, Assistant Professor of BIBM; Tofayel Ahmed, Assistant Professor of BIBM; Anisur Rahman, Deputy General Manager of Bangladesh Bank; Pradip Paul, Joint Director of Bangladesh Bank; Jannatul Firdaus Tania, Deputy Director of  Bangladesh Bank; Md. Tanvir Hossian, General Manager of BEPZA; Riad Mahmud Chowdhury, SEVP of Eastern Bank Limited; Md. Rafiqul Islam, Vice President of NRB Bank Limited.

A good number of participants including senior bank executives, academicians, media representatives, faculty members of BIBM took part in the research workshop.
According to the study, government’s goal to reach the targets of setting up of 100SEZs and drawing true benefits out of the establishments is possible by incorporating supportive economic policies, adequate infrastructure and efficient support amenities including banking and financial services.
S.M. Moniruzzaman, Chairman of BIBM Executive Committee and Deputy Governor of Bangladesh Bank was present in the research workshop as the chief guest. Helal Ahmed Chowdhury, Supernumerary Professor of BIBM & Former Managing Director of Pubali Bank Limited; Yasin Ali, Former Supernumerary Professor of BIBM; Mohammad Abu Jafar, Deputy Managing Director of Dhaka Bank Limited; Muhammad Shohiduzzaman, Country Head of Global Trade and Receivables Finance of HSBC Bangladesh spoke among others at the event.
Deputy Governor said, current Government of the Bangladesh has taken the initiative to become a developed nation under Vision 2041. The government planned to set up at least 100 public and private special economic zones across the country. The main objective is to encourage rapid economic development through increase and diversification of industry, employment, production and export. In this regard, effective business facilitation by banks and financial institutions in Special Economic Zones are crucial for their sustainability.
BEPZA Act, Bangladesh Economic Zones Authority Act and the Bangladesh Hi-Tech Park Authority Act have been enacted to boost industrialization and job creation through the promotion of trade and investment in the country in those areas. Besides, as the regulatory and supervisory authority of the banking industry, Bangladesh Bank is issuing different circulars for all business facilitation by banks in special economic business areas he added.

In the concluding speech, Barkat-e-Khuda, Dr.Muzaffer Ahmed Chair Professor of BIBM & Former  Professor of Dhaka University said, output of the study along with opinions and observations made today will help BB to take future actions.

Members of the Institute

  • Bangladesh Bank
  • Sonali Bank Limited
  • Janata Bank Limited
  • Agrani Bank Limited
  • Rupali Bank Limited
  • Pubali Bank Limited
  • Uttara Bank Limited
  • Bangladesh Krishi Bank
  • Bangladesh Development Bank Limited
  • AB Bank Limited
  • National Bank Limited
  • Eastern Bank Limited
  • United Commercial Bank Limited
  • Islami Bank Bangladesh Limited
  • IFIC Bank Limited
  • Rajshahi Krishi Unnayan Bank
  • Standard Chartered Bank
  • Dutch-Bangla Bank Limited
  • Mercantile Bank Limited
  • ONE Bank Limited
  • Al-Arafah Islami Bank Limited
  • National Credit and Commerce Bank Limited
  • Trust Bank Limited
  • Southeast Bank Limited
  • Social Islami Bank Limited
  • The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited
  • Standard Bank Limited
  • Export Import Bank of Bangladesh Limited
  • Mutual Trust Bank Limited
  • BASIC Bank Limited
  • Jamuna Bank Limited
  • Bank Asia Limited
  • First Security Islami Bank Limited
  • The City Bank Limited
  • Prime Bank Limited
  • Dhaka Bank Limited
  • Investment Corporation of Bangladesh
  • Bangladesh Commerce Bank Limited
  • BRAC Bank Limited
  • The Premier Bank Limited
  • Shahjalal Islami Bank Limited
  • State Bank of India
  • Habib Bank Limited
  • Commercial Bank of Ceylon PLC
  • Bank Alfalah Limited
  • Citibank, N.A.
  • National Bank of Pakistan
  • South Bangla Agriculture and Commerce  Bank Limited
  • Meghna Bank Limited
  • Woori Bank
  • NRB Commercial Bank Limited
  • Union Bank Limited
  • The Farmers Bank Limited
  • NRB Bank Limited
  • Shimanto Bank Limited
  • Bangladesh House Building Finance Corporation
  • Non Member NBFI